My Crazy Journey in Search of God, Faith, Reason & Truth

One recent morning, as I and my two kids sat at the breakfast table eating raspberries for breakfast, my daughter asked me, “Mom, do you still like God?”

I paused. “What do you mean sweetheart?”

“Is God still your friend?

“Are you asking me because you think I used to be friends with God and you don’t think I am anymore?”. She nodded and said, “Yes, I don’t think you like God anymore.”

Again I had to pause. After collecting my thoughts, I said something like, “Oh honey, I still like God, I’m just not sure whether people know as much about God as they think they do. Everyone says, ‘God does this and not that’ or ‘God likes this and not that,’ but I don’t think they really know as much about God as they think they do. And I’m trying to figure it all out.”

She seemed reasonably satisfied.

Then I added, “And I promise that what I figure out, I will explain it all to you when you are old enough.” She seemed pleased with this and had no more questions for me.

Comments on: "“Do you still like God?”" (4)

  1. Hey, that is a very good answer, it is great you can have honest dialog like that with them.

  2. Thanks. My father was always honest with me and I am trying to do that with my kids as well. It is hard knowing how to handle my religious doubt honestly with my children since I still remember how my parents (who were not religious at that time) had no satisfactory answers about death and as a child I was TERRIFIED of death until I became a Christian! I don’t want my children to be terrified but I also don’t want to lie to them that any of us has certainty about what happens after we die. But I suppose these are the deep questions of life-that have no certain answers- that all parents must struggle to understand how to explain them to their children!

  3. atimetorend said:

    Yes, I have that concern with my children as well, having experienced the same fears of death as a child with non-religious parents.

    I wager that the fear tends to be similar in a way for Christians and unbelievers. The unbeliever may fear death without a God and perhaps then, no hope. While the Christian can have the same terror when experiencing doubt, wondering if God really does exist along with a heaven to follow this life.

    So I agree with you, “deep questions…that all parents must struggle to understand how to explain them to their children!” As well as struggle to explain for themselves.

  4. I like your answer, as well. I haven’t read your story (yet) but I’m assuming this is a new phase for you. I think it’s awesome that you can be open and honest with your children. My mom was always open with us, and we’ve had such a great relationship with her since.

Leave a Reply

